Conservation Commission

Created in 2017, the Conservation Commission is a staffed working group completing conservation-related tasks with the primary purpose of supporting the Planning Commission and Development Review Board. The commission is currently composed of seven (7) volunteers appointed by the Selectboard, possessing related background experience. The Conservation Commission works under the guidance of the Town Planner, who provides technical assistance and serves as liaison between the Conservation Commission, Planning Commission, DRB, Selectboard and other related Town departments.

1. Work with the Town Planner to act as an advisory committee to the DRB, providing opinions on applications with potential impacts on protected natural resources in Middlebury
2. To undertake inventories, studies and other projects as requested, for use by the Planning Commission and Town Planner in updating the Town Plan and Zoning and Subdivision Regulation
3. Provide community education and outreach on conservation issues as needed

Regular Conservation Commission Meetings
When: 3rd Monday of the month
Time: 12pm
Where: Room 118, 1st Floor, Town Offices, 77 Main Street, Middlebury, VT 05753
(Times and dates of meetings sometimes change for various reasons. Please check the Agenda page on this site to verify date, time, and location)


  • Dave Allen - 2024-2028
  • Christopher Brooks - 2023-2027
  • Carol Harden, Chair - 2023-2027
  • Andrew L’Roe, Past Chair - 2021-2025
  • Eric Moody - 2024-2028
  • Amy Sheldon - 2022-2026
  • Charlotte Tate, Vice-Chair - 2022-2026

 - All communications to the Conservation Commission should be directed to:
Jennifer Murray, AICP
Director of Planning & Zoning
Town of Middlebury, 77 Main Street, Middlebury, VT 05753
802-388-8100, x210