Public Health and Safety Committee

The Public Health & Safety Committee considers the community’s needs on a broad range of subjects, including traffic, parking and sidewalk management, pedestrian and bicycle safety, fire, police and medical emergency preparedness and equipment, weather-emergency preparedness, wildlife issues, environmental hazards, criminal justice, and keeps the Town abreast of state-wide health trends and concerns.

At-large members of the Committee represent the interests of all Middlebury citizens as they relate to these issues.

Regular Public Health & Safety Committee Meetings
When: Quarterly (Jan, April, July, Oct) on 4th Monday of month
Time: 4pm
Where: Town Offices, 1st Floor Conference Room, 77 Main Street, Middlebury, VT 05753

Public Health & Safety Committee Members
  • Laura Asermily, Citizen-at-Large, Chair
  • Gary Baker, Citizen-at-Large
  • Emily Blistein, ACSD Representative
  • Dan Brown, Selectboard Member Liaison (Alternate)
  • Jason Covey, Middlebury Police Chief
  • Andy Hooper, Selectboard Member Liaison
  • Bill Kernan, Department of Public Works-Operations Director
  • Demitria Kirby, Middlebury College Public Safety Representative
  • Andrew L'Roe, Citizen-at-Large & ACRPC Representative
  • Brian Olsen, UVMHN-Porter Hospital Representative
  • Kate Rothwell, MREMS Representative
  • Tom Scanlon, Town Health Officer
  • David Shaw, Middlebury Fire Chief
  • Kathleen Ramsay - Staff (Manager's Office)